Saintummers Projects

Wake on Lan with infrared control

++++ This page is also available in german ++++

This enables a PC that is in another room to be switched on remotely via LAN (Ethernet). The command to switch on is given by the button an infrared remote control. The PC serves as a media server, the HDMI cable and the infrared signal are sent via a standard HDMI, Infra Extender via the LAN cabling TV set forwarded. An HDMI / IR extender over CAT6 is used here. The type of line extension does not matter for the Wake On Lan solution. In one direction the HDMI signal to the TV, in the other direction the IR signal to the PC.

Overview IR_WOL

Purpose: the PC is switched on by IR remote control.
Function: With a defined button on the IR remote control, the PC is switched on via WOL via Ethernet.
The CAT6 line for the HDMI extender must of course not be connected to an Ethernet switch. All mouse commands are transferred to the PC. Switching off is done by mouse command from the PC User Interface.
Two variables must be filled in the software
IR code button and MAC address of the PC

An Atmega328 is used as the CPU, which is connected to an IR receiver and an Ethernet controller.

Circuit

Circuit

The IR receiver TSOP4838 is on pin4 of the CPU. An LED on PIN6 that lights up briefly when a key is recognized. An LED on PIN26 which flashes during operation. This shows that the CPU is running. The Ethernet module W5100 is connected to PINS 16, 17, 18, 19 and 1. Here you can see that the W5100 and the ISP cannot be used at the same time. When the CPU is programmed, pull the W5100. Replace the choke between PIN20 and PIN7 here with a 1K resistor, connected directly on this PCB here, because there is no ADC used.

Infrared transmitter and receiver

The IR-RX receiver of the PC, the TSOP4838 (RX) of the IRWOL and the IR transmitter (TX) of the HDMI / IR repeater are housed in a small plastic box.
TSOP4838 ----\
IR-RX--------------------- IR TX
IR TX sends to IR-RX and TSOP4838

Aluminum case with board, Atmega328 and W5100 module

Complete unit

This Instruction is only intended for experienced electronics engineers. Mains voltage is used here. The housing must be connected to the protective conductor. Operation only possible with a three-pin Schuko socket. The safety regulations must be observed! 

Software for this project

Many thanks to the Arduino community for the software parts that can be used here.
Here is the Arduino source (sketch) file to download

The software runs in a loop whether the infrared button is recognized. The software is also monitored via a watchdog. As a check, an LED flashes slowly with a timer interrupt. If the defined key is recognized, then The Wake ON LAN packet is sent via the Ethernet interface. The PC turns on. The loop continues. Software anpassen: Geben Sie den IR-Code der Fernbedienungstaste und die MAC-Adresse vom PC aus ein. Für den IR-Empfänger ist "AIRremote.h" erforderlich.
Enter the MAC address of your PC in line 35: static byte g_TargetMacAddress [] = {0x00,0x19,0x99,0xAE, 0x5E, 0xE3}; // PC that is started via WOL
Line 137 remove the comment "//". // Serial.println (rxir); // Displays IRCode, otherwise always commented out.
Find the key code in the serial console of the Arduino IDE and enter it here in line 20. String mytaste = "1416658004"; Only the code that is recognized several times when the button is pressed is of interest here. Start and end codes are irrelevant here. Test setup here is the code of a key that is pressed for a long time. Accept this value in the "mytaste" variable.

In line 137 insert the "//" comments again, compile it, export it as "HEX-with bootloader" and flash this via ISP (for the atmega328 on the board) or load it to the test UNO.

An Arduino UNO is very suitable for testing the software. Also for testing the MAC address and the IR button
Test setup with Arduino UNO

Board Layout

downloadable PCB layout as pdf here

Components

Components

Saintummers Projekte

Wake on Lan mit Infrarot Fernbedienung

Damit kann ein PC welcher im Keller steht, per LAN (Ethernet) fern eingeschaltet werden. Der Befehl zum Einschalten erfolgt per Taste an einer Infrarot Fernbedienung. Der PC dient als Medienserver, das HDMI Kabel und das Infrarotsignal wird per einem handelsüblichen HDMI, Infra Extender über die LAN Verkabelung zum TV Gerät weitergeleitet. Hier wird eine HDMI/IR Extender over CAT6 verwendet. Die Art der Leitungsverlängerung ist für die Wake On Lan Lösung egal. In die eine Richtung wird das HDMI Signal zum TV geleitet, in die andere Richtung das IR Signal zum PC.

Überblick IR_WOL

Als CPU wird ein Atmega328 verwendet, welcher mit einem IR-Empfänger und einem Ethernet Controller verbunden ist.

Schaltung

Schaltung

Der IR Epfänger TSOP4838 liegt an Pin4 der CPU. An PIN6 eine LED, die bei der erkannten Taste kurz aufleuchtet. An PIN26 eine LED welche im Betrieb blinkt. Damit sieht man dass die CPU lauft. Das Ethernet Modul W5100 hängt an den PINS 16,17,18,19 und 1. Hier sieht man dass der W5100 und der ISP nicht gleichzeitig verwendet werden können. Wenn die CPU programmiert wird, den W5100 ziehen. Die Drossel zwischen PIN20 und PIN7 hier mit Drahtbrücke realisieren, da nicht gebraucht weil hier keine ADC Funktionen eingebaut.

Infrarot Sender und Empfänger

In einem kleinen Kunststoffkästchen sind der IR-RX Empfänger des PCs, der TSOP4838 (RX) des IRWOLs und der IR Sender (TX) des HDMI/IR Repeaters untergebracht.
TSOP4838 ----\
IR-RX--------------------- IR TX
IR TX sendet an IR-RX und TSOP4838

Alugehäuse mit Print , Atmega328 und W5100 Modul

Komplett

Der Nachbau ist nur für erfahrene Elektroniker gedacht. Es wird hier mit Netzspannung gearbeitet. Das Gehäuse muss am Schutzleiter angeschlossen werden. Betrieb nur an dreipoliger Schukosteckdose möglich. Die Sicherheitsbestimmungen sind einzuhalten! 

Software für dieses Projekt

Danke an die Arduino Gemeinschaft für die Softwareteile welche hier verwendet werden können.
Hier ist die Arduino Quelldatei zum herunterladen

Die Software lauft in einer Schleife ob die Infrarot Taste erkannt wird. Die Software wird auch über einen Watchdog überwacht. Zur Kontrolle blinkt eine LED langsam per Timerinterrupt. Wenn die definierte Taste erkannt wird, dann wird das Wake ON LAN Paket an der Ethernetschnttstelle ausgesendet. Der PC schaltet ein. Die Schleife lauft weiter. Software Anpassen: IRCode der Fernbedienungstaste und MAC Adresse vom PC eintragen. Es wird die "AIRremote.h" für den IR Empfänger benötigt.
IN Zeile 35 die MACAdresse des PC eintragen: static byte g_TargetMacAddress[] = {0x00,0x19,0x99,0xAE,0x5E,0xE3}; //PC, welcher gestartet wird per WOL
Zeile 137 die Auskommentierung "//" entfernen. // Serial.println(rxir); //Zeigt IRCode an, sonst immer auskommentiert.
In der Seriellen Konsole der Arduino IDE den Tastencode feststellen und in Zeile 20 hier eintragen. String mytaste = "1416658004"; Hier ist nur der Code, welcher bei drücken der Taste mehrfach erkannt wird, interessant. Beginn und Ende Codes sind hier unerheblich. Testaufbau hier der Code einer Taste, welche lange gedrückt wird. Diesen Wert in die Variable "mytaste" übernehmen.

In Zeile 137 die "//" Auskommentierungen wieder einfügen, kompilieren, als "HEX-mit Bootloader" exportieren und per ISP in den Atmgea38 flasheh, oder in den UNO laden.

Zum Testen der Software ist ein Arduino UNO sehr geeignet. Auch für das Austesten der MACAdresse und der IR Taste
Testaufbau

Platinenlayout

hier herunter ladbares PCB-Layout als Pdf

Bestückungsplan

Bestückungsplan